‘I Give What I Love’

I believe most people do. In this context, it was chocolate–Cote D’or milk chocolate from Belgium, to be precise.

Within 10 minutes of arriving in Antwerp, I found myself with a cup of coffee, a map, and a handful of chocolates–in that order. Not too shabby. Now, if only the sun could come out. I’m half kidding. By that I mean 100% kidding. In all fairness, though, Belgium does have a certain charm with its grey skies and cool air, even if I found myself hiding away in bars drinking Ardbeg, the peatiest scotch known to man, to beat the cold.

As for when I’m not beating the cold with scotch, the weather here is about 55 degrees, windy, and grey until about 3 PM, and then all of a sudden, BAM: SUN and I’m sweating in my wool jackets. Or– it continues to be cold and grey.

Nevertheless, the here and there weather is fitting for a city with a history of reshaping its perception and scope of art and fashion. Antwerp is known as a major port city, with golden ages of trade that surpassed even Bruges, home to a premier art academy that has reinvented itself many times over with the help of Van Gogh and the Six of Antwerp plus Martin Margiela, among others, and served as a gateway to New York and Philadelphia for many Europeans traveling to and through the city between 1870 and 1930. What’s more, Antwerp has deep roots in revolution, forging new perspectives, and making what seems not, so.

From Wikipedia:

‘According to folklore, and as celebrated by the statue in front of the town hall, the city got its name from a legend involving a mythical giant called Antigoon who lived near the river Scheldt. He exacted a toll from those crossing the river, and for those who refused, he severed one of their hands and threw it into the river Scheldt. Eventually, the giant was slain by a young hero named Brabo, who cut off the giant’s own hand and flung it into the river. Hence the name Antwerpen, from Dutch hand werpen – akin to Old English hand andwearpan (= to throw), which has changed to today’s warp.


Those who lose themselves in passion lose less than those who lose their passion–Alexandre Jardin


Happy Birthday Dear Academie: MoMu







